OStrA Committee

Definition: The IABSE Outstanding Structure Award (OStrA) was established in 1998. It is one of the highest distinctions awarded by IABSE and recognises, in different regions of the world, some of the most remarkable, innovative, creative, or otherwise stimulating structures, but not necessarily the largest, longest, highest, or otherwise record-breaking structures. Sustainability and respect of the environment is also an important factor.

to the Executive Committee

at least once every year


NameCountryPositionTerm StartTerm End
Dr. Paul Luechinger, Dr. Lüchinger + Meyer Bauingenieure AGSwitzerlandChair20132017
Mr. John F. Duntemann, Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates Inc.United StatesMember20132017
Mr. Amitabha Ghoshal, STUP Consultants Pvt LtdIndiaMember20092017
Mr. Shigeru HikoneJapanMember20132017
Mr. Naeem Ullah Hussain, Ove Arup & Partners Hong Kong LtdHong KongMember20152019
Mr. Svein Erik JakobsenNorwayMember20132017
Prof. Dr. Hyun-Moo Koh, Dept. of Civil & Environmental Eng.Korea, Republic OfMember20092017
Mr. Serge MontensFranceMember20092017
Dr. Roland von Woelfel, Leonhardt, Andrä Und Partner AGGermanyMember20092017
Term of Office
Chair:  4 years
Vice-Chair:  4 years
Members:  4 year term with max. of 2 terms