WC 7: Sustainable Engineering

The Working Commission is, in its field of activity, responsible for the active support of the objectives of the Association. It supports in this respect all other committees of the Association.

Field of Activity
The mission of WC 7 is to implement the resolution adopted by the Permanent Committee in 1996, namely to further the aims of sustainable development, i.e. to meet the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs. Towards that end, WC 7 will develop information about sustainability relevant to structural engineers. By means of techniques available for technology transfer, WC 7 will disseminate this information to members of IABSE and to the community at large with the aim that the principle of sustainability becomes an integral part of the engineer's thinking and action.



to the Technical Committee

1 - 2 per year, contact Chair


NameCountryPositionTerm StartTerm End
Mr. Andrew Martin, COWI A/SDenmarkChair20152019
Mr. Jorge de Brito, Instituto Superior Tecnico Dept de Engenharia CivilPortugalVice Chair20152019
Prof. Dr. Bruno Briseghella, Fuzhou University College of Civil EngineeringChinaMember20112019
Ms. Rebecca Buntrock, SilmanUnited StatesMember20152019
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Guillaume Habert, ETH ZurichSwitzerlandMember20152019
Prof. Tatsuo Inada, Fukuoka UniversityJapanMember20112019
Dr. Akio Kasuga, Sumitomo Mitsui ConstructionJapanMember20132017
Mr. Martin Kirk, ARUPUnited KingdomMember20132017
Prof. Dr. Yun Mook Lim, Yonsei Univ. School of Eng., Dept of Civil Eng.Korea, Republic OfMember20092017
Prof. Ekasit Limsuwan, Chulalongkorn UniversityThailandMember20112019
Mr. Yue LiuGermanyMember20152019
Mr. Serge MontensFranceMember20132017
Dr. Xin Ruan, Tongji UniversityChinaMember20092017
Mr. Ikuhide Shibata, Ove Arup and Partners Japan LtdJapanMember20152019
Mr. Bhesha Nand Singh, Ministry of Road Transport & HighwaysIndiaMember20152019
Mr. Congzhen Xiao, China Academy of Building ResearchChinaMember20092017