OPA Committee

The Outstanding Paper Award Committee (OPAC) annually reviews all articles submitted for the IABSE's quarterly journal, Structural Engineering International (SEI), and identify recipients of the annual IABSE Outstanding Paper Award in both scientific and technical paper categories. They uphold IABSE’s mission of driving high quality and progressive information through the process of selecting winners for this award.



Technical Committee


1-2 per year


Term Start 
Term End
Harshavardhan Subbarao United Kingdom Chair 2021 2025
Alfred Strauss Austria Vice Chair 2021 2025
Mitsuyoshi Akiyama Japan Member 2021 2023
Eftychia Apostolidi Austria Member 2021 2023
Salvatore Di Bernardo United States Member 2021 2023
Ane de Boer Netherlands Member 2021 2023
Jorge de Brito Portugal Member 2021 2023
Giorgio Diana Italy Member 2021 2023
Christos Giarlelis Greece Member 2021 2023
Guy Larose Canada Member 2021 2023
Shunichi Nakamura Japan Member 2021 2023
Mikael Wimpffen Bræstrup Denmark Member 2021 2023
Andreas Lampropoulos United Kingdom Member 2021 2023