Log in

Log in


IABSE’s technical Commissions and their Task Groups provide opportunities to exchange knowledge & professional expertise with international peers. These Commissions cover the stages within the life-cycle of any structure:

Commission 1 – Performance & Requirements
- Problems related to structural performance and safety of civil engineering structures and requirements to be established for structural performance, both in design phase and beyond.

- Enhancement of design and assessment strategies for all kinds of civil engineering structures, including support for decision-making

Commission 2 – Conceptual Design
- Holistic understanding of design processes, including social as well as technical, functional and aesthetical aspects, for any type of structure

- Promotion of the value of good design in achieving highest quality legacy of infrastructure and built environment for the future

Commission 3 – Structural Analysis and Evaluation
- Problems and progress related to structural analysis and evaluation of any type of structure

- Exchange of knowledge and experiences among worldwide practitioners

Commission 4 – Construction Methods & Processes
- Activities contributing to deeper understanding and best practices in construction methods and processes for all structures

Commission 5 – Existing Structures
- Development & enhancement of methods and tools for economically efficient, environment-friendly, and socially reconcilable decision-making process for any type of existing structure

- Supports technical activities in structure management, from concepts, methods to data processing

Commission 6 – Sustainability
- Provision of guidance towards sustainable development in structural engineering, both from theoretical and practical aspects

- Development of sustainability aspects, including framework, design, disaster prevention & control, construction & maintenance, demolition & function expansion, new materials and value protection.

Former TC Chair, Prof. Daia Zwicky

Commission 1
Niels Peter Høj, Switzerland

Vice Chair
Ana Mandic Ivankovic, Croatia

Commission 2
Jöse Romo Martin, Spain

Vice Chair
José Romo Martin, Spain

Commission 3
Richard Stroetman, Germany

Vice Chair
Vesa Järvinen, Finland

Commission 4
Pedro Pacheco, Portugal

Vice Chair
Javier Muñoz-Rojas, Spain

Commission 5

Rade Hajdin, Switzerland

Vice Chair
Jose Campos e Matos, Portugal

Commission 6
Xin Ruan, China

Vice Chair
Mitsuyoshi Akiyama, Japan


Jungholzstrasse 28
8050 Zurich

Location: Map Info

Have a question?
+41 43 443 97 65

Bank details: Click here.
Privacy Policy

Follow Us
on Social Media