Log in

Log in

Governing Documents


The By-laws are the Association's basic document which defines the objectives and field of activities, the organisation and responsibilities of various committees. They fix the financial responsibility of the Association and the members.
Download IABSE By-Laws  Current version, 25 October 2023.

Privacy Policy & Terms and Conditions
Updated Version
Standing Orders for 
Distinctions at IABSE

The Distinctions and Prizes programme of IABSE has as its objective the advancement of the structural engineering through the recognition of outstanding achievements. At present time, five distinctions are presented by IABSE:

1. Honorary Membership

The Honorary Membership is presented to an Individual Member of IABSE, for exceptionally great services rendered to the Association.
Standing Orders for Honorary Membership
List of Honorary Members

2. International Award of Merit in Structural Engineering

The Award was established in 1975 to underline the importance of the work done by engineers, by highlighting examples of particular significance. It will be conferred for outstanding contributions in the field of structural engineering, with special reference to their usefulness to society.
Standing Orders for International Award of Merit in Structural Engineering
List of Awardees

3. IABSE Early Career Prize

The IABSE Early Career Prize was established in 1982 to honour a member early in his, or her, career for an outstanding achievement in the field of structural engineering, in Research, Design or Construction.
Standing Orders for IABSE Early Career Prize
List of Awardees 

4. Outstanding Paper Award

The Outstanding Paper Award is remitted each year to the author(s) of a paper published in the preceding year's issues of the IABSE Journal Structural Engineering International, launched in 1991.
Standing Orders for Outstanding Paper Award
List of Awardees 


5. Outstanding Structure Award

The IABSE Outstanding Structure Award (OStrA) was established in 1998. It is one of the highest distinctions awarded by IABSE and recognises, in different regions of the world, some of the most remarkable, innovative, creative, or otherwise stimulating structures, but not necessarily the largest, longest, highest, or otherwise record-breaking structures. Sustainability and respect of the environment is also an important factor.
Standing Orders for Outstanding Structure Award
OStrA Nomination Template
List of Awardees

Jungholzstrasse 28
8050 Zurich

Location: Map Info

Have a question?
+41 43 443 97 65

Bank details: Click here.
Privacy Policy

Follow Us
on Social Media