Log in

Log in

IABSE Calendar of Events

IABSE Symposium Istanbul 2023

26-28 April 2023

Long Span Bridges 

IABSE Congress New Delhi 2023

20-22 September 2023

Engineering for Sustainable Development

Annual Meetings precede the Congress

IABSE Symposium  Manchester 2024

10-12 April 2024

Construction's Role for a World in Emergency

Save the Date!

IABSE Congress San Jose 2024

25-27 September 2024

Beyond Structural Engineering in a Changing World

Save the Date!

National Group Events 2023

Tentative events are listed below with a rough timeline based on submitted National Group 2023 Activities reports. For further information, or an update please write to B.Bose at

April to June
  • 7th Young Engineers Colloquium 2023 (YEC 2023) - May 30-31 (German and Czech Rep. NG)
  • Meeting on ‘Slab on grade design and construction’ - June (Costa Rican NG)
  • Deans period (Gideon/John) speaking to first year engineering students (South African NG)
  • Future of Design (FOD) Conference, London - April (British NG)
  • A National Technical visit is proposed to the Chacao Bridge - April (Chilean NG).
  • Annual Lecture, London – May (British NG)
  • Activities for young engineers and a contest ‘Building Construct’ in Timisoara – May (Romanian NG)
  • Technical Lecture, New York - 11 May (USA NG) 
  • XIV CBPE (Brazilian Conference on Bridges and Structures) – 12 May (Brazilian NG)
  • Webinar: AASHTO LRFD vs Standard – May (Chilean NG)
  • Course: Bridge Design (AASHTO and national Code) – May (Chilean NG)
  • Meeting of the TG on the Italian guidelines for the presentation of the results on the case studies - May (Italian NG)
  • Site visit to Miguillas Hydroelectric (tbc, Bolivian NG)
  • Webinar/lecture: Basic statistics in current engineering practice, from paper to spreadsheets; Quality Assurance and Quality Control, Bolivian Case (tbc, Bolivian NG)
  • Yearly NG Seminar and Site Visit (Norwegian NG)
  • Webinar: Chilean Highlight bridge projects – June (Chilean NG)
  • Site visit to Jauntal Composite Bridge - May-June (ÖBB) – (Austrian NG)
  • Laboratory Test at Bridge Factory (ÖBB) – Vibration Testing – (Austrian NG)
  • Webinars planned for: Facades; IABSE awards projects (South African NG)
  • Local conference (in Slovak language) “The 45th annual meeting of engineers in the area of steel structures”, Oščadnica Slovakia - 25-26 May (Slovakian NG).
  • TG1.6 is planning a workshop on Risk Acceptance Criteria in Civil Engineering Decision Making in Trondheim, NTNU, Norway on 19 - 20. June 2023 (Norwegian NG). 

July to September

  • Henderson Colloquium, Cambridge - July (British NG)
  • Future of Design Conference (FOD), location TBD – September (British NG)
  • Webinar: Mechanical Soil: Application on Bridges – August (Chilean NG)
  • Course: Cable Supported Bridges – July (Chilean NG)
  • Site visits in neighboring countries: Romania, North Macedonia, Greece, Serbia (tbc, Bulgarian NG)
  • Site visit to the new bridge over the Danube River near “Braila – Town” in Romania – September (Romanian NG).
  • Physical one day meeting in Milan – September/October (tbc, Italian NG).
  • Site visit to the Underground U2/U5 construction site, Wiener Linien – September (Austrian NG)
  • Webinar planned on the Leonardo building (tbc, South African NG)
  • Bridge building competition (South African NG)
  • Third Young Engineers Colloquium in East Asia in Korea (tbc, Japan, China, Rep.of South Korea)
  •  20th International Symposium of MASEVenue: Hotel DoubleTree by Hilton, Skopje, North Macedonia - 28-29 September (New Macedonian NG)
October to December
  • Steel Day October 2023 – October (Costa Rican NG)
  • Wind turbine foundations webinar (tbc, South African NG)
  • Milne Medal Award and Lecture, London – November (British NG)
  • Site visit (Ireland, tbc, British NG)
  • Co-organizing of the Annual Bridge Conference “Wrocław Bridge Days 2023” (November 2023) 
  • CAQUOT Award and AFGC Awards will be given during the Gala dinner of CFGC 2023 (French NG)
  • General Assembly – December (Austrian NG)
  • Virtual site visit Msikaba bridge -Sulizma Schultz (South African NG)
  • Presence at final year thesis day (South African NG)

General programs:

  • Technical webinars every Thursday at 17.30hrs CET (French NG)
  • BST Initiative (Bridges for Social Transformation) webinars connecting university students and IABSE experts (Colombian NG)
  • Annual IABSE BG NG award and National competition "Kolyu Ficheto" for the best diploma thesis in the field of "Civil Engineering", organized by the Bulgarian Scientific and Technical Union of Civil Engineering (Bulgarian NG)
  • Linking IABSE members to advise student teams in the “Engineers in Action” initiative, designing and building pedestrian bridges in developing countries, virtual conference for young members and students. (tbc, Canadian NG)
  • Encourage the development of IABSE “hubs” in the Vancouver and Greater Toronto regions (Canadian NG)
  • Three-Four Webinars – March, May, September, November (Austrian NG)
  • Test case: IABSE Austrian Webinars and combined project work together with the students of the study program KTWW of the University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences Vienna; one meeting/presentation in personal instead of one webinar combined with social-event (Austrian NG).



Jungholzstrasse 28
8050 Zurich

Location: Map Info

Have a question?
+41 43 443 97 65

Bank details: Click here.

Follow Us
on Social Media