Message from the Scientific Committee

Harshavardhan Subbarao


The main goal of the Symposium is to create a forum for the debate on the development of bridge and structural engineering as part of worldwide culture, and on current challenges in this area. The Symposium shall focus on significant issues, like Multi-Disciplinary Planning and Integration – (urban planner, architect, structural engineer and MEP); Planning and Preservation of Culture & Heritage; Tall Buildings; Elevated Transportation Structures; Green Buildings, Environmental & Sustainability Issues under The Changing Skyline and Planning, alignment and integration of transportation networks and infrastructure; Geo-technical, Geo-physical Investigation & Soil Structure interaction; Design and Construction (Roads, Metros); Transportation in the Digital Age; Operation and Maintenance; Asset Management and Monitoring; and Environmental and Sustainability issues under Underground Structure. The Symposium shall also focus on significant case studies related to the theme.


We look forward to your contribution and to meeting you in New Delhi!


H. Subbarao
Chair, Scientific Committee



About the Scientific Committee

The Scientific Committee (SC) is chaired by Harshavardhan Subbarao, India with Co-Chair B.C. Roy, India. It consists of 79 members from 31 countries. The SC is elected by the Technidal Committee of IABSE, chaired by Prof. Daia Zwicky Fribourg University of Applied Sciences.

Important Dates

Receipt of Abstract (extended till):

to be re-confirmed


Notification Abstract Acceptance:

to be re-confirmed


Submission of Full papers:

to be re-confirmed


Final Invitation, Registration opens:

14 September 2020


Notification of Full Papers Acceptance:

30 August 2020


Deadline for Authors registration:

30 September 2020


Early Bird registration fee deadline:

9-10 November 2020


Opening Ceremony:

14 April 2021


Participants wishing to present a paper are invited to submit an abstract, not exceeding 300 words, related to the Themes and Topics. Abstracts will only be accepted through online peer review system using the template available at the online submission platform.


Submit your Abstract here..


Symposium Proceedings
The Symposium proceedings will be available in electronic format at the beginning of the Symposium. Authors must register for the Symposium in order to have their paper presented in the symposium and published in the proceedings.


Themes and Topics
  • The Changing Skyline
  • - Multi-Disciplinary Planning and Integration
    - Smart Planning and BIM for Tall Buildings
    - Notable Architects Structures
    - Elevated Transportation Structures
    - Green Buildings, Environmental and Sustainability Issues


  • Underground Structures
  • - Corridor Planning and Integrated Multi-Modal Transport System
    - Geo-technical Features and Soil-Structure interaction
    - Temporary and Permanent Structures: Design and Construction
    - Transportation in the Digital Age
    - Tunnel Asset Management and Monitoring
    - Operation and Maintenance of Metro System



Technical Programme

The scientific programme will include Keynote, Plenary and Parallel Sessions over three days. The official language of the Symposium is English.


Young Engineers Programme

Delegates born in 1987 or later will enjoy reduced registration fees. In addition, a jury will present the Young Engineers’ Contribution Award to two young authors, born in or after 1987, who personally presented their paper during the Symposium. The prize is sponsored by the IABSE Fellows and the Organising Committee. These awards consisting of financial prizes will be presented at the Closing of the Symposium


Technical Visits

Delhi is undergoing a major face change with many development activities being undertaken, particularly on the infrastructure front. Some of the activities are metro lines, buildings and others that are under execution. Technical visits and tours will be organised during the event to some construction projects. The details will be included in the Final invitation.

Delhi Metro UG Tunnel under Construction        Delhi's Iconic Signature Bridge


Scientific Committee

Harshavardhan Subbarao, India (SC Chair)
B.C. Roy, India (Co-Chair)
Alok Bhowmick, India (Secretary)     

Brian Uy, Australia
Alfred Strauss, Austria
Eftychia Apostolidi, Austria
AFM Saiful Amin, Bangladesh
Stefan Zmigrodzki, Canada
Guy Larose, Canada
Katrin Habel, Canada
Sébastien Maheux, Canada
Xin Ruan, China
Limin Sun, China
Yaojun Ge, China
Ye Xia, China
Ana Mandic Ivankovic, Croatia
Tina Vejrum, Denmark
Fathy Saad, Egypt
Mourad Bakhoum, Egypt
Bruno Godart, France
Christian Cremona, France
Arndt Goldack, Germany
Georg Pircher, Germany
Mike Schlaich, Germany
Peter Seitz, Germany
Igor Kavrakov, Germany
Stephanos Dritsos, Greece
Steve Kite, Hong Kong
Mahesh Tandon, India
Umesh Rajeshirke, India
Vikram Pakrashi, Ireland
Yaron Offir, Israel
Maria Pina Limongelli, Italy
Luigi Fenu, Italy
Fabrizio Palmisano, Italy

Tobia Zordan, Italy
Bruno Briseghella, Italy
Shunichi Nakamura, Japan
Hyun-Moo Koh, Korea (South)
Carlos Mendez-Galindo, Mexico
Ane de Boer, Netherlands
Bert Hesselink, Netherlands
H.H. (Bert) Snijder, Netherlands
Rob Vergoossen, Netherlands
Svein Erik Jakobsen, Norway
Jan Bien, Poland
Jan Biliszczuk, Poland
Pedro Pacheco, Portugal
José Matos, Portugal
Luís Oliveira-Santos, Portugal
Hélder Sousa, Portugal
Sorin Dan, Romania
Anton Syrkov, Russia
Alphose Zingoni, South Africa
Jan Wium, South Africa
Ignacio Paya-Zaforteza, Spain
Ann Schumacher, Switzerland
Eugen Brühwiler, Switzerland
Thomas Vogel, Switzerland
Andreas Lampropoulos, United Kingdom
Ourania Tsioulou, United Kingdom
David MacKenzie, United Kingdom
Fernando Madrazo-Aguirre, United Kingdom
Dan Frangopol, USA
Debra Lafer, USA
Jonathan McGormley, USA
Sougata Roy, USA