Outstanding Structure Award


The IABSE Outstanding Structure Award (OStrA) was established in 1998. It is one of the highest distinctions awarded by IABSE and recognises, in different regions of the world, some of the most remarkable, innovative, creative, or otherwise stimulating structures. Sustainability and respect of the environment is also an important factor.

The Awards are restricted to a maximum of one Award per year in each one of the two categories:
  Buildings and other structures
  Bridges and other infrastructures


The Award may be used by the owner or other entities involved in design and construction of the awarded structure for public relations purposes, under the condition that the IABSE logo and/or full name are clearly mentioned and will appear in a prominent place.

Diplomas are given to the owner of the awarded structure for distribution to parties involved in the planning, design and construction of the awarded structure, e.g. to the engineers, the architects and the contractors. A maximum of ten diplomas are provided free of charge.

The winning structure and the finalists are presented in SEI or another IABSE printed media and on the IABSE website and by means of posters at the annual Symposium or Congress of IABSE.

Information to submit nomination
Standing Orders
Nomination Template 





Winner in ‘Building or Other Structure’ category:

Beijing Daxing International Airport Terminal, China

Picture 1, Picture 2, Picture 3, Picture 4


Winner in ‘Bridge or Other Infrastructures’ category:

Rose Fitzgerald Kennedy Bridge over the River Barrow, Ireland

Picture 1, Picture 2, Picture 3, Picture 4

2020: Hong Kong Zhuhai Macao Bridge, China

           The Finalists:
           Cheonsa Bridge, Korea
           Halogaland Bridge, Norway

           Samuel De Champlain Bridge, Canada

2019: Mersey Gateway Bridge, UK  

           The Finalists:
           Widening of the bridge over the Rande Strait, Spain  
           Mukogawa Bridge, Japan 

2018: Yavuz Sultan Selim Bridge, Turkey 

           The Finalists:
           Circle Bridge, Denmark 
           Viaduct over River Almonte, Spain 
           Queensferry Crossing, UK

2017: Phoenix Centre, Beijing, China (Watch the Plaque Unveiling Ceremony, China)

           The Finalists:
           Birmingham Gateway Project: The Transformation of Birmingham New Street Station 
           Port of Valencia Lighthouse, Spain 
           Dandeung Bridge, South Korea 

2016: Shanghai Tower, China

           The Finalist:
           Viaduct over River Ulla, Spain

2015: The San Francisco Oakland Bay Bridge New East Span, USA

           The Finalists:
           Abeno Harukas, Japan
           Xiamen North Railway Station Building, China
           Nanjing Dashengguan Yangtze River Bridge, China

2014: Taizhou Bridge, Jiangsu Province, China
          The Finalists:
          Kings Cross Western Concourse Roof, UK
          Canton Tower, Guanzhou, China
          Las Arenas, Barcelona, Spain

2013: 2012 Olympic Velodrome, London, UK
         Yi Sun-sin Bridge, Gwangyan, South Korea            

2012: Estadio Ciudad de la Plata, Buenos Aires, Argentina

           The Finalists:
           The Busan-Geoje Fixed Link, Korea            
           Xihoumen Bridge, China

2011:  Burj Khalifa Tower, Dubai, UAE

            The Finalists:
            Moses Mabhida 2010 Soccer Stadium, Durban, South Africa
            Pont Gustave Flaubert Lift Bridge, Rouen, France
            Stonecutters Bridge, Hong Kong, China

2010:  The National Aquatics Centre, Beijing, China   

            The Finalists:
            The Heathrow T5A, UK 
            The Spiral Towers, Japan 
            The Sutong Bridge, China 
2009: The Church of the Most Holy Trinity, Fatima, Portugal   
         Tri-Countries Bridge, Weil am Rhein, Germany, and Huningue, France  
2008: The Copenhagen Opera House, Denmark  
         The Shanghai Lupu Bridge, China  
2007: The New Roof of the Commerzbank-Arena, Frankfurt, Germany 
2006: The Central Bus Station Hamburg, Germany  
         The Rion-Antirion Bridge, Greece 
         The Millau Viaduct, France    
2005: The Gateshead Millennium Bridge, UK    
2004: Milwaukee Art Museum Addition, Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA   
         Funchal Airport Extension, Madeira Island, Portugal   
2003: Bibliotheca Alexandrina, Alexandria, Egypt  
         Bras de la Plaine Bridge, Reunion Island, France    
2002: Miho Museum Bridge, Japan  
         Stade de France, Paris, France  
         Oeresund Fixed Link, Denmark – Sweden    
2001: Guggenheim Museum, Bilbao, Spain  
         Sunniberg Bridge, Klosters, Switzerland    
2000: Glass Hall of Leipzig, Germany
         Keyence Corporation Head Office and Laboratory, Osaka, Japan