Task Group 1.8
Design Requirements for Infrastructure Resilience


Mission Statement/Objectives

Various natural and human-induced hazard events are resulting in more and more severe consequences to the built environment which in turn affects the societies and economies that this infrastructure supports – exacerbated by increased urbanization. Therefore, it is essential to sustain the functionality and operability of critical infrastructure during and after the hazard event, minimize the direct and indirect losses and mitigate the consequences in the aftermath of a disaster.

Over the last decade, the concept of the resilience of cities, infrastructure and societies has emerged aimed at achieving the stated goal as well as ensuring recovery to a normal operational state in a relatively rapid and cost-effective way, i.e. resilience.

Several definitions of resilience were suggested, and various frameworks and tools for resilience assessment have been developed or built upon the existing models.

A wide variety of modules is available, including identification of likely failures and performance of structural and infrastructure systems, recovery of loss of functionality and preparation of recovery plans for disaster events, among others. Thus, resilience assessment tools are becoming more sophisticated, aiming to assist engineers, infrastructure operators and owners, decision-makers, and planners to perform a resilience-based design and/or assessment of individual buildings, critical infrastructure, and cities, and in this way to efficiently manage assets, reduce maintenance costs, as well as withstand and recover from catastrophic events.

In this Technical Group, we start by a review of on-market available definitions, methods, and tools and discuss its developments and then identify limitations and future needs, including the use of monitoring systems for enhancing infrastructure resilience. A second, step would be to propose a unified framework, toward well-informed quantitative risk and resilience designs and assessments of infrastructure, and to propose a recommendation for a framework that encompasses other stakeholders.

Scope & Limitation

What will be included in the documents and the actions:

The TG is focused on the following:

Part A:

1) investigate and identify available definitions, methods, and tools for infrastructure resilience;

2) discuss developments, applications, limitations of the above tools;

3) propose future needs and developments.


Part B:

the TG will propose to a certain extent a unified method, based on the identified concepts, and then, will offer practical guidelines for design requirements for infrastructure resilience. The TG intends to include multidisciplinary experts since, by definition, resilience aims to consider the social and economic recovery as well as the infrastructure recovery after a catastrophic event.


Expected Project Output

The expected outcomes are articles in IABSE conference proceedings and SEI journal. Moreover, special sessions at IABSE Conferences, for example, the IABSE Congress Christchurch 2020, which has the theme “Resilient Technologies for Sustainable Infrastructures” is a very suitable event for Special Sessions dealing with resilience at the structure, infrastructure, and city levels. Finally, based on the progress of the TG work, we aim to propose a guideline in the form of IABSE report (SED book). Nevertheless, this is to be confirmed later.


Start Date: September 2019
Target Date of Completion: September 2023



  Nisrine Makhoul, Italy
  Vice Chair
  Sotirios Argyroudis, UK

John Van de Lindt, USA
Juan Carlos Lam, USA
Yiannis Xenidis, Greece
Luís Oliveira Santos, Portugal
Helder Sousa, Portugal
Stergios Mitoulis, UK
Enrico Tubaldi, UK
Dimitris Pitilakis, Greece
Franziska Schmidt, France
Himmet Karaman, Turkey
Philippe Gueguen, France
Stefan Zmigrodzki, Canada
Andre Barbosa, USA
Jamie Padgett, USA
Caroline Field, UK

Paolo Gardoni, USA 

Therese McAllister, USA

Boumédiène Derras, Algeria 

Milad Roohi, USA 

Andrew Foster, UK 

Sotiria Stefanidou, Greece 

Jong Sung Lee, USA 

Christopher Navarro, USA 

Anastasia Tzioutziou, Greece

Nefize Shaban, Turkey

Merkourios Papadopoulos, Greece