Welcome to IABSE Congress 2020!

Did you miss the IABSE Congress Christchurch 2020 held from February 3-5, 2021?

No worries, we got you covered! You can now buy ACCESS PASS to the Congress recordings and enjoy all presentations at your own time and pace! With your ACCESS PASS, you can watch all sessions recordings, including discussions sessions and Congress Proceedings. After your purchase, you will receive your personal ACCESS PASS to the Congress until 1 July 2024.

Buy here..



Please email IABSE Secretariat at secretariat@iabse.org to receive your personal discount code.



Keynote Presentations/Paper Discussion Sessions: can be accessed via the 'FEB 3 - FEB 5/6' tab.  Click on the View button, then click on the Play button out to the right next to the Session Recording. 


Paper Presentations:  This can be accessed via the 'MAR 5' tab that appears under the Programme heading. 


Submit Questions for Presenter:  You will see this out to the right in any session.  This feature is no longer active but you can click on the down arrow to expand and see questions that were asked, or click on the answered tab to see if it was answered. 

Meeting Hub:  You can check out the list of attendees here.  As the event has passed, it is unlikely you will be able to connect with any participants, but you can move the online now switch to see if anyone is online.
Important Technical Information
For the best experience, we recommend using the latest version of Google Chrome, Microsoft Edge or Mozilla Firefox browser and allowing OnAIR (the virtual platform) to access your camera and microphone. As a default, your camera and mic will automatically be turned off in all sessions.


Keynote Speakers  

The programme will be enriched by well-known, technical and inspirational speakers . There are 15 keynotes speakers  and  you have the opportunity to hear them present on their specialist topic followed by some interactive discussion sessions. The confirmed keynote speakers are:

(Click on keynote titles to download abstracts available)


Lianne Dalziel, Mayor of Christchurch City Council, New Zealand
Topic: Resilience of Structures under Seismic and Multi-hazards

Stefano Pampanin, Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
Title: Seismic Safety and Energy Efficiency:  Raising the International Bar to Enhance Community Resilience and Sustainability

Luke Bisby, University of Edinburgh, UK
Title: Adequacy' in Performance-Based (Fire) Engineering 

Venkatesh Kodur, USA
Title: Strategies for Mitigating Fire Hazard in Bridges

Mark Sarkisian, Skidmore, Owing & Merrill, USA
Title: Inventive Approaches to Seismic Resiliency

Akio Kasuga, Sumitomi Mitsu Construction, Japan

Title: Technologies for Sustainability in the Seismic Country

Peter Burnton, Arup, Australia

Title: Five Pedestrian Bridges: Construction Opportunities and Constraints

Knut Stockhusen, Schlaich Bergmann Partner, Germany

Title: Move NOW 

Philippe Block, ETH Zurich, Institute of Technology in Architecture, Switzerland
Title: Disruptive Innovation in Sustainable Concrete Construction

Carlo Ratti, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
Title: Senseable Cities


A Special Session:  'The History, the Failure and the Renaissance of the Morandi Bridge' will be presented by 3 Keynote Speakers:


G. Michele Calvi, IUSS, Scuola Universitaria Superiore, Italy

Title: Design, Construction, Life and Failure of the Morandi Bridge

Tullia Iori, Tor Vergata, University of Rome, Italy

Title: Riccardo Morandi and his Invention

Angelo Vittozzi, Italferr, Italy

Title: The Genova's San Giorgio Bridge, The History of the Deck Project from Concept to Testing

Limin Sun, Tongji University, China
Title: Hybrid Monitoring of Bridge Structures

Dan Frangopol, Lehigh University, USA
Title: Risk, Resilience, Sustainability, and Climate Adaptation of Infrastructure in a Life-Cycle Context

About The Organisers

The New Zealand Group of IABSE is organising with the support of the University of Canterbury and 100% PURE NEW ZEALAND the IABSE Congress Christchurch 2020. The Organising Committee (OC) is chaired by Prof. Alessandro Palermo, Co-Chair Stephen Hicks from Canterbury University and Co-Chair Barry Wright, from New Zealand Transport Agency. The OC includes 9 dedicated members.


Organising Committee

Alessandro Palermo, Chair
Stephen Hicks, Co-chair
Barry Wright, Co-chair
Raed el Sarraf
Larry Bellamy
Wu Chou
Robert Finch
David Carradine
Anthony Abu
Tim Sullivan
Peter Burnton
Katie Symond




Gold Sponsor



Silver Sponsors







Bronze Sponsors









Keynote Session Sponsor



Keynote Session Lecture 12, February 5, 2021

Gian Michele Calvi, IUSS, Scuola Universitaria Superiore, Italy
'Design, Construction, Life and Failure of the Morandi Bridge'