Log in

Log in

Carlos Mendez-Galindo, PhD

Co-Chair of the Scientific Committee 

Matias Valenzuela, PhD

Co-Chair of the  Scientific Committee

Technical Programme


On behalf of the Scientific Committee, it is our great pleasure to invite the esteemed members of the international structural engineering community to the IABSE Congress 2024 in San Jose, Costa Rica. The event will take place from 25-27 September 2024, at the Costa Rica Convention Centre in San Jose. The Congress is being organised by the Costa Rican, Chillian, and Mexican Groups of the IABSE.

The IABSE Congress is a premier international gathering that provides a platform for sharing knowledge, fostering collaboration, and discussing advancements in the field of structural engineering. With the theme of "Beyond Structural Engineering in a Changing World," the Congress aims to explore the challenges and opportunities that arises from the evolving global landscape.

The Congress will feature a wide range of themes and topics that are of utmost importance to the structural engineering community. Renowned experts and practitioners from around the world will present their cutting-edge research, innovative solutions, and best practices in these areas. The Congress will provide a fertile ground for meaningful discussions, knowledge exchange, and networking opportunities that can shape the future of our profession.

We believe that your expertise and valuable contributions would greatly enrich the Congress. We kindly request you to consider participating as a speaker, presenting a technical paper, or joining as an attendee. Your presence will undoubtedly enhance the quality of discussions and make the Congress a resounding success.

We look forward to welcoming you to the IABSE Congress 2024 and to the beautiful city of San Jose. Let us come together to explore new horizons, share knowledge, and shape the future of structural engineering in a changing world.

With warm regards,

Carlos Mendez-Galindo, PhD                                                    Matias Valenzuela, PhD                           

Co-Chair, SC, Mexico                                                                          Co-Chair, SC, Chile 

Carlos Mendez-Galindo, PhD                                                    Matias Valenzuela, PhD                 

About the Scientific Committee

The Scientific Committee is elected by the IABSE Technical Committee responsible of maintaining the academic and scientific content of the event. They rigorously review the submitted abstracts and papers to ensure a high-quality technical programme, contribute to the content selection, programme development, and overall success of the conference. 

Scientific Committee

Carlos Mendez-Galindo, PhD , Co -Chair, Mexico                                               

Matias Valenzuela, PhD, Co-Chair, Chile         

Organising Secretariat

Costa Rican National Group - ACIES

4 piso - CFIA, contiguo al Indoor Club de Curridabat

San José, Costa Rica

Phone: +(506) 2103-2413 / 2103-2212 Ext. 4086




Adriana Guisasola, Argentina

Brian Uy, Australia

Alfred Strauss, Austria

Eftychia Apostolidi, Austria

Nelson Vega, Bolivia

Daniel Silverio, Brazil

Guy Larose, Canada

Sébastien Maheux, Canada

Stefan Zmigrodzki, Canada

Hernan Pinto, Chile

Jairo Quinteros, Chile

Matias Valenzuela, Chile

Yaojun Ge, China

Juan Andres Oviedo Amezquita, Colombia

Daniel Ureña Muñoz, Costa Rica

Eduardo Guevara, Costa Rica

Joseph Jiménez, Costa Rica

Manuel Cruz, Costa Rica

Maria Ramirez, Costa Rica

Marija Trifunovic, Costa Rica

Oscar Arce, Costa Rica

Ana Mandić Ivanković, Croatia

Petr Hájek, Czech

Tina Vejrum, Denmark

Eva Lantsoght, Ecuador

Fathy Saad, Egypt

Mourad Bakhoum, Egypt

Andre Orcesi, France

Christian Cremona, France

Nisrine Makhoul, France

Gledson Tondo, Germany

Jan Niklaus, Germany

Marion Rauch, Germany

Richiard Stroetmann, Germany

Carlos Galicia, Guatemala

Hector Monzon, Guatemala

Victor Hernandez Carol, Guatemala

Alok Bhowmick, India

Vikram Pakrashi, Ireland

Fabrizio Palmisano, Italy

Giorgio Diana, Italy

Maria Pina Limongelli, Italy

Tobia Zordan, Italy

Akio Kasuga, Japan

Mitsuyoshi Akiyama, Japan

Shunichi Nakamura, Japan

Tamon Ueda, Japan

Paul Mullins, Malaysia

Carlos Mendez-Galindo, Mexico

Dario Rivera Vargas, Mexico

Edgar Tapia Hernandez, Mexico

Hector Guerrero, Mexico

Jose G. Rangel, Mexico

Jose Ramon Gaxiola-Camacho, Mexico

Juan Carlos Delgado Trejo, Mexico

Miguel X. Rodriguez, Mexico

Saul Crespo, Mexico

Svein Erik Jakobsen, Norway

Gloribel Cespedes, Panama

Anna Rakoczy, Poland

Jan Bien, Poland

Jan Biliszczuk, Poland

Paweł Hawryszków, Poland

Diogo Ribeiro, Portugal

Hélder Sousa , Portugal

José Matos, Portugal

Luís Oliveira Santos, Portugal

Hyun-Moo Koh, Rep of S. Korea

Sorin Dan, Romania

Jan Wium, South Africa

Ainhoa Marin Camero, Spain

Felipe Collazos-Arias, Spain

Joan Ramon Casas, Spain

Rasmus Rempling, Sweden

Ann Schumacher, Switzerland

Niels Peter Høj, Switzerland

Raad Abdul-aziz, Switzerland

Rade Hajdin, Switzerland

Ane de Boer, The Netherlands

Bert Hesselink, The Netherlands

H.H. (Bert) Snijder, The Netherlands

Rob Vergoossen, The Netherlands

Andreas Lampropoulos, United Kingdom

Konstantino Kalfas, United Kingdom

Luis Segura, Uruguay

Debra Lafer, USA

Eleftheria (Elina) Efthymiou, USA

Jonathan McGormley, USA

Themes and Topics

Theme and Topics- Decarbonization and Climate change

- Sustainability

- From design to construction

- Constructability

- Structural health monitoring

- Rehabilitation of existing structures

- Communication routes

-Alternative systems components

- De-constructability and second use

- Software modeling

- Demand loads

- Resilience

- Integrated design

- Soil-structure interaction

Conference Proceedings

The  Congress Proceedings will be distributed in electronic format (ePDF) to all participants during the congress.  Authors must register for the Congress in order to have their papers presented and included in the proceedings.

Young Engineers Programme

Delegates born in 1990 or later will enjoy reduced registration fees. In addition a Young Engineers’ Contribution Award will be presented to two young authors, born in or after 1990, who have personally presented their paper during the Congress. The prize is sponsored by the IABSE Fellows and the Organising Committee. The award consist financial prize and a certificate, which will be presented during the closing ceremony.


Jungholzstrasse 28
8050 Zurich

Location: Map Info

Have a question?
+41 43 443 97 65

Bank details: Click here.
Privacy Policy

Follow Us
on Social Media